Go to content


Zoran Mitev resized

© Arhiv Festival Ljubljana

  • 11 Jul 2024 ob 20:00

    Križanke Church (Church of Our Lady of Mercy), Trg francoske revolucije 2

ZORAN MITEV, bassoon
Members of Art Centre Polifonia
Igor Škerjanec, cello

After his studies in Skopje, Zoran Mitev graduated from the University of Ljubljana’s Academy of Music in 1987, then completed a specialisation in Graz. In 2010, the Senate of the Academy presented him with the Award for Important Works of Art in the field of bassoon. Since 1992, he has been solo bassoonist for the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra, and has premiered more than 40 works for solo and chamber ensembles by Slovene and foreign composers. He is also active as a teacher. He will be joined by members of the Art Centre Polifonia, founded in 2003 in Skopje, which focuses on concerts, supporting Macedonian artists, organising workshops and other activities. They will perform a suite by the prolific English composer and arranger Gordon Jacob, a concertino by the eclectic Swedish composer Lars-Erik Larsson (who wrote in both late-Romantic and dodecaphonic styles), the famous A Little Night Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, a composition by the versatile and intensely expressive Slovenian composer Črt Sojar Voglar, and a work by the revolutionary Argentine tango composer Astor Piazzolla, which incorporates elements of jazz and classical music. The celebration of Zoran Mitev’s 40th anniversary as a performer will thus feature an outstanding and highly varied chamber repertoire. 

Gordon Jacob: Suite for Bassoon and String Quartet
Tomislav Zografski: Suite for String Orchestra
Lars-Erik Larsson: Concertino for Bassoon and String Orchestra, Op. 45, No. 4
Marko Mihevc: new work*
Dragan Šuplevski: Capriccio for String Quintet
Črt Sojar Voglar: At Least Five Times Useful for Bassoon and String Quintet

*premiere performance


More information is available on the organizer's website.

Tickets: 24 €