Maria João Pires, piano

Add to MyVisit Add to MyVisit

Maria João Pires is one of the most distinguished musicians in the world.

Event is part of the festival Winter Ljubljana Festival

At the 5th Winter Festival, she will play Chopin’s Concerto for piano and orchestra no. 2 in F-minor with the RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra conducted by Ricardo Castro. He was the first Brazilian conductor to be awarded honorary membership of the Royal Philharmonic.


  • Maria João Pires, piano
  • Ricardo Castro, conductor
  • RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra


  • L. van Beethoven: Coriolan, overture in C minor, op. 62
  • F. Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op.21
  • H. Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras št. 4
  • I. Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite (version from 1919)


Related content